Marlborough Boys' College Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is constituted from members of the College's larger community. Members are elected by parents / caregivers for a three-year term. As well, the board has two school-based representatives, one representing staff and one the student body.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for overall governance of the school - ensuring that the school meets all its legal obligations. It oversees the development of the School Charter; sets policies, goals and school rules. This is done in consultation with the principal, staff and wider community. The Board also has the role of employer and is responsible for the employment of the principal and other staff. Another important role of the Board of Trustees is to ensure the school is communicating effectively with its community.

If you would like to contact any member of the Board, this may be done through the College Office.

Board Members:

Chairperson Lynette Rayner
Deputy Chairperson MJ Loza
Deputy Chairperson Geoff van Asch
Parent Representative Callum Anderson
Parent Representative Johnny Joseph
Parent Representative Tim Burfoot
Parent Representative Steve Wilkes
Secretary Debbie Cowlishaw
Staff Representative  Deborah Cave-Higgins
Student Representative Lachlan MacNabb

 Board meetings are held in public and open to any interested party to attend.  The provisions of Part 7 of the Local Government Official Information and Meeting Act 1987 apply.  The Board chair presides at the meeting and his/her decision on procedural matters is final. 

Members of the public are entitled to receive copies of the meeting agenda and relevant papers, attend the meeting to watch and listen, and take notes.  However they are not entitled to take part in the meeting by word or action (unless the Board resolves to grant them speaking rights), or communicate with trustees during the meeting (unless the trustee leaves the meeting), or remain in the meeting room when the Board meeting goes ‘in committee’.